top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFabian

Walt Disney World Our First Family Vacation

Updated: Apr 16, 2018


Walt Disney World
Road Trip

Our first family vacation to Walt Disney World was a long road trip coming from Colorado but it was definitely worth it. We rented a huge van and had our family of 7 and another family of 7 with us in the van. We also had some friends and their family following in another vehicle. The drive was like 27 hours. Yeah a long drive. With a few stops to fill up the tank, take some puffs and grub we finally made it to our home for the time being.


We just missed the welcome party for us but when we checked in we had everything ready for us including our hopper passes to Walt Disney World along with some extra gifts and like $250 in resort credit. We used the resort credit to have some food delivered to us from one of the restaurants on the resort and my oldest son wanted some Oakley sun glasses and I think we bought some groceries also. The perks of being part of a vacation club.


The place we stayed at was the Orange Lake Resort. It's a 4-star hotel. They offer spacious hotel-suite/condo-style studios, and one, two, and three-bedroom villas from 430 to 2,475 square feet complete with living room and washer/dryer. Studio washer/dryers are located on each floor. We were able to prepare family meals in our kitchen which includes tableware and cookware. We had a 2 Bedroom villa with 3 beds, 2 bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, a dining room/living room area with a sleeper sofa, spa tub and a furnished balcony. Wi-Fi, parking and internal resort shuttle are free to all guest. This was our view from the living room window.


Orange Lake Resort




The Orange Lake Resort is right next door to the Walt Disney World Resort and has 9 different restaurants/dining options, 7 pools-including water slides and a lazy river


, four golf courses, three arcades, three fitness centers, two mini golf courses, daily activities in the kid's center and more.. I would definitely stay here again and explore more of what they have to offer. If I was just to visit this place it would have all been worth it. I was hoping to get to 1 of the 4 golf courses at this resort but didn't make it again, maybe at the next one.


This being our first family vacation was epic. Especially going to Walt Disney World .

Walt Disney World

The Magic Kingdom

I never grew up taking family vacations. I think we camped out at the local lake a few times but that's about it. I was excited to take my family on our first family vacation. I waited until my son was 12 years old. Not because I wanted to wait until he was that old but because I was thinking I couldn't afford it or I didn't have the time. This vacation will stick with my family forever and has started us taking multiple trips a year. They won't remember the gifts they got on their 6th birthday but they will remember the time they went to Walt Disney World. Memories created that will last a life time.


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page